What is the definition of a Non-QM Loan?

Erik Sandstrom

Mortgage Expert - Call 1-619-379-8999
Staff member
Loan Safe Mortgage
Jan 14, 2011
San Diego, California
www.loansreduced.com
There have been an abundance of new programs to hit the market and they are being labeled as Non-QM loans. Back in the 2003-2008 era we had these terms that are no longer used today called SISA, SIVA or NINA. Very popular as well during that time period were also Hard Money loans, we never heard of these "Non-QM" home loans. Let's break everything down below:

What does Non-QM mean? Non-QM is a fancy acronym for Non Qualified Mortgage. Basically a mortgage that doesn't fit within conventional, jumbo, FHA, VA or USDA guidelines. There's something about either the borrower's criteria or the property they are purchasing preventing it from being financed through traditional means. Once you find this out, it's time to get creative.

I have been working with these loans for many, many years as many of the members here at LoanSafe have experienced economic events in the past or have something unique about them. Something I've been known for is how to avoid a hard money loan. And there are certain cases where Hard Money is the only option but you want to make sure you've exhausted your Non-Qualified Mortgage space before you enter that realm. Hard Money loans are notorious for having the highest costs and interest rates in the industry and mainly designed to be short term financing for investors.

Within the LoanSafe realm we have access to just about every investor in the marketplace and each one is different. One may offer the best deals on after foreclosure, bk, short sale. Another investor may be better with Bank Statement, Self-Employed and No-Income loans for investment properties.