Specialized Loan Servicing (

Tremaester

LoanSafe Member
I am new to Loan Safe. I have seen several stories regarding a 2nd mortgage with SLS, none of them good. However, I am now embarking on the process that Iread by TomEason. This is the first month (Oct 2015) that I will not pay SLS. My mortgage went from interest only of $370 to interest and principal of $2,300. I tried for months to work out a modification without success. Unfortunately, I had not yet found this website and gave SLS all my financial information basically to show them that I can't afford to pay that amount. My house is under water so a refinance is not possible. Plus I did a Harp on my first mortgage in 2013.

Anyway, I have never missed or been late on a payment ever and have owned the home with my wife for 21 years and we don't want to leave it. First mortgage is 161, 900 with a payment of 810 a month so no problem. My second with SLS is 128,400. They did a drive by and valued my home at 270,000. So I am about 20,000 under water. I made them an offer of 30,000, but have not heard back from them.

I plan now not to communicate with them again until I hear from their recovery department with an offer to settle. I would be very interest in any other advice you might have on this.

Moe Bedard

Call 1-800-779-4547
Staff member
Loan Safe Mortgage
Hello and welcome to the LoanSafe community.

The 2nd mortgage settlement strategy can be a bit nerve racking for anyone who embarks on this plan. There are absolutely no guarantees and it takes nerves made of steal to deal with the process which can take many, many months to well over a year to get an answer.

You are basically at the first step in the process. It is much like poker and you have just had your turn and now it is time for the other player, your mortgage servicer to decide on their move. You cannot force their move or influence it more than you already have. Now it just takes patience to see what they do next.

Last edited:

bigfrog