Not sure what to do next. ASC and KYHC seem to be dead ends

Welcome to the LoanSafe Forums!
Get free mortgage help today. Since 2007, the LoanSafe forums have helped millions of homeowners over the last 13 years either save their homes with a loan modification, obtain a short sale, forbearance, or walk away legally from their underwater mortgages.
Register for FREE

Parizienne

LoanSafe Member
Mar 20, 2014
Hi, I'm new to this forum. I am also very confused about what the best course of action would be to take under my circumstances.

In August of 2013, we fell behind in our mortgage by about 6 weeks. This happened because I'm a teacher and I get my summer pay in advance. Our household of four expanded to seven ( one widowed parent, two 18 year-old children looking for work/ home from college) by the time August rolled around and I was basically out of cash. My husband was gainfully employed, as well. I took on an extra class and started training to teach an online class to help us get caught up. The training for the online class took a couple of months. When I finally received a class to teach, it was just one for the whole of 2013, as it would turn out. Apparently, online universities employ a wide array of adjunct faculty and there is no guarantee of when or how often you will receive assignments. So, by October, we still weren't caught up, but still about 6 weeks in arrears. We tried to work through ASC to get a modification or repayment plan to get caught up as well. We had also tried refinancing and hit the wall because we were upside down, not too deep, but upside-down, nonetheless. We asked for a rate reduction from ASC b/c we are paying 7.25%. Hubs had bad credit after his divorce in 2005, so that was the best rate we could get w/ no balloon pmt in '06. ASC wouldn't budge.