Mortgage After Switching Job

Welcome to the LoanSafe Forums!
Get free mortgage help today. Since 2007, the LoanSafe forums have helped millions of homeowners over the last 13 years either save their homes with a loan modification, obtain a short sale, forbearance, or walk away legally from their underwater mortgages.
Register for FREE

DaveT123

LoanSafe Member
Jan 30, 2015
Hi,

I am hoping to buy my first home in the near future (ideally in less than a year). I am currently working as a salaried civil engineer. I have been working for 4 years. I am thinking of switching jobs to work for a software company on their technical sales team. My new role will also be salaried (with a commission bonus). I am worried that mortgage lenders will see this as a field change and it will hurt my chances of getting approved for a loan. So my questions are:

1) Do you think this will hurt my chances of getting a loan? Or do you think they will see Engineering and Technology as similar fields?

2) If it does hurt my ability to get a loan, how long will I need to prove income at the new job before I can apply for the mortgage?

Thanks in advance for the help!
-Dave

Moe Bedard

Call 1-800-779-4547
Staff member
Loan Safe Mortgage
Aug 10, 2007
Southern California
www.loansafe.org
Hello,

My understanding is that yes, it may hurt your chances since it is a different field. They do look at this things pretty strictly. You would need two years of what is called "job seasoning" to qualify for a mortgage with almost all lenders .

Erik Sandstrom

Mortgage Expert - Call 1-619-379-8999
Staff member
Loan Safe Mortgage
Jan 14, 2011
San Diego, California
www.loansreduced.com
Hi Dave,
Moe is right on the money.

When you switch jobs you want to stay in the same industry, then the 2 year seasoning wouldn't apply. If there's an argument to be made that is in the same line of work I can always pose the question to my underwriters.