HARP Most Commonly Asked Questions - Answered!

Erik Sandstrom

Mortgage Expert - Call 1-619-379-8999
Staff member
Loan Safe Mortgage
Jan 14, 2011
San Diego, California
www.loansreduced.com
HARP M­­ost Commonly Asked Questions – Answered!
As you may know, I am one of the few HARP experts in the industry today and one of the main reasons I’m on this forum is to help educate homeowners of the options they have. I am a licensed California loan officer offering the program with unlimited LTV, loans with Mortgage Insurance and most of the time providing property inspection waivers (appraisal waivers).

What I’ve experienced recently as far as statistics:

Freddie Mac HARP through Loan Prospector (Open Access)

15 – 20% of clients get denied through Loan Prospector for various reasons. My statistics may be lower than normal as I know a few tricks to get past the Caution feedback.
95% of Freddie Mac clients receive appraisal waivers

Fannie Mae HARP through Desktop Underwriting
10 – 15% of clients get denied through Desktop Underwriter
75% of Fannie Mae clients receive appraisal waivers as long as the value submitted is realistic compared to the comparable sales in the area.

Questions & Answers

1. Do I have to go through my current lender/servicer?
    1. Absolutely not! This is one of the biggest misconceptions with the program, many of the current servicers (ie: Bank of America, Citi, Wells Fargo) are all telling their clients that they must go through them for HARP. This is another tactic used by them to make the borrower believe they have no other options and gouge them with interest rates. Many banks have been quoting rates for HARP that are above market rates. The HARP program is NOT a loan modification, nor is it a negotiation with your lender.

1. Does this loan include closing costs?