Chase Loan Modification vs. Refinance

dos81

LoanSafe Member
Dec 31, 2008
Hello all,

I am new to the site and glad to see there is a place where people can get educated about the loan mod process, which is why I am here. I am new to the process but have heard alot more about it in the past few months.

I have a Chase 30 yr. fixed mortgage @ 6.25%,
I bought the house in June 2006,
currently owe $325K on the loan
Riverside, CA

Ok, well my story is that I have taken a 20% paycut from work since April 2007 which really has made things difficult and have managed to get by without being late on an payments thanks to God. Well it is getting increasingly difficult to stay current so I have just started thinking about a refinance or loan mod. I called Chase Finance yesterday and they told me they would do the refi but the house would have to appraise for $375K which I know it won't, it probably will only appraise for $325K at the most, so I pretty much owe what it's worth right now.

So seeing that a refi is not likely, what should I expect of the loan mod process with Chase. I tried to get someone on the phone about it but but they transferred me around to several people and in the end I hung up after only automated options. One guy did tell me that I would have to talk to a different dept. since my loan is prime.

I have also talked to a friend that is using an attorney service that does loan mods to help them but am liery about it. At this point I don't want to do anything to affect my credit score like being late on my payments, if I can avoid it. Is a loan mod possible working with Chase directly or is it better to work through an attorney that can manouver for me. I am not looking for a balance reduction per se but would be happy with a permanent interest rate reduction to lower my monthly payments several hundred dollars to make it more affordable for me, since I don't know when I am likely to get my full wages back. What advice do you have for me?