Home Loans and Support

POA for relatives to buy new house in cash before short sale old house

Discussion in 'Short Sale Outpost' started by distressed_in_florida, May 25, 2011.

1. distressed_in_florida

distressed_in_florida LoanSafe Member

Hi everyone,
    Here's our story:
    We stopped mortgage payments in October 2010. Applied for the loan mod through BOA in December. Seemed to be declined because we're both unemployed and our income ratio is too high to qualify. We haven't received notice that we're declined, we just kind of know it.

We would like to short sale our old house in the fall of 2011 and have my husband's parents buy our new house with cash before the short sale process. DH would have a POA for his parents and I would execute the transaction (I'm a licensed real estate agent in the state of Florida for 6 months now).

After a couple of years, we would like to know if his parents can sell us the new house back to us as a gift transaction. Is our plan legal and right?

Let me know if you need any other info to help give advice.

Thank you!
  2. distressed_in_florida

Let me take that back: I won't be handling the transaction, another real estate agent will. So it won't be an arm's length transaction.
  3. Francie

Francie LoanSafe Member

The "ALT" (Arm's length, etc) is the first thing that crossed my mind when reading. I think the idea of buying a new home, especially in FL, before the old one goes is a good idea. In a word, homesteading.

If everything goes perfectly, this can work though it is questionable. That's the problem: read the first phrase (containing the "perfectly" word) again. If it unravels, there can be problems. Any superficial investigation can reveal the ruse. The names are likely the same; the POA then becomes discoverable. In a word - fraud. Compound that if the short sale doesn't work, there is a deficiency, a foreclosure happens, maybe even a BK - that's a REAL problem.