Home Loans and Support

Are tax benefits enough for me to keep an underwater condo I hate?

Discussion in 'Stop Foreclosure and Tell Us Your Story' started by JTKinLA, Jun 30, 2010.

1. JTKinLA

JTKinLA LoanSafe Member

I have been considering a short sale for the last several months, and even went so far as to stop paying my mortgage. Unfortunately, the realtors that I've worked with so far have not been very proactive in finding a buyer. I currently owe $415,000 on a condo valued at $280,000.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
    <o:p></o:p>
    During this process I received a notice from my bank that my interest rate has dropped to 3.25%, and will stay that way for at least the next 6 months. I have an adjustable rate, and this was the first adjustment. My payment will now be approx. $1700/month ($2300 prior to adjustment), which is less than it would cost to rent a comparable place in Los Angeles.<o:p></o:p>
    What's making the decision to stay difficult is that I absolutely hate the condo I'm living in! The unit and location are OK, but the building and most of the other owners are horrible!! Dogs go to the bathroom and no one bothers to clean up, even in the hallways... The list could go on! I need to make some improvements to my unit also, but I find it difficult to put any money into a home that is so underwater.<o:p></o:p>
    What I'm trying to figure out is if the tax benefits of owning will outweigh the peace of mind I would have living in a place that I would actually appreciate. This is likely a decision only I can make, but I’d love to hear what others have to think! Thanks! <o:p></o:p>
  2. Moe

Moe Call 1-800-779-4547 Staff Member Loan Safe Mortgage

You are right, only you can make this decision but here are my thoughts.